什么是按揭的赠送证明函?

如果您购买房屋时没有足够的钱来支付大笔的首付款,则可以选择一些方法来承担财务负担。 除了首付款援助计划或折扣点外,有些人可能还有幸可以请求他们的朋友和家人赠送礼物。 我们指的不是面包烤箱或搅拌机,而是让您购买梦想新家园的金钱捐赠。

但是,以这种方式接受款项时,您的贷款人将要求您提供一封赠送证明函,说明您收到的钱确实是一份礼物而不是新的债务。 信中应注明您不需要偿还这笔款项。 从另一个角度来看,如果您要为别人的新房子捐款,则应该确保您了解这个要求。

在讨论这封证明书本身之前,让我们讨论一下有关按揭过程中礼物的定义。

什么会被视为是一份礼物?

礼物可以来自多种来源;这些来源有时也称为捐赠者。 捐赠者可能是朋友或家人,例如父母,也可能是结婚礼物。 在某些情况下,雇主甚至会为您购买房屋做出贡献,甚至在更罕见的情况下,房地产经纪人有时也会做出贡献。

礼物也不必只来自一个来源。 您可以从几个捐助者获得资金,用于支付您的首付款或交易费用。

请注意所存在的一些限制。 不允许在投资物业上赠与礼物。 因此,如果您希望购买第二套房产来进行投资,请确保您有另一个不同的资金来源。 不过,您可以在主要和次要住宅上使用礼物,而这将适用于首次购房者的大多数选择。 请咨询您的按揭贷款顾问以查看这项规定是否适用于您。

如何书写一封证明函

赠送证明函不须要很复杂。 当然,您可以自己写一封赠送证明函,而且您喜欢它有多正式或非正式都可以。 唯一的警告是它必须包含必需信息。

撰写您的赠送证明函时,请确保包括以下内容:

  • 捐赠者的姓名、地址和电话号码(如果您有多个捐赠者,则必须列出每位捐赠者的信息)
  • 关系的性质
  • 捐赠款项的准确金额
  • 明确说明不需要偿还款项
  • 款项的支付方式
  • 您将购买的房屋的地址

我为什么需要一封赠送证明书?

您可能想知道为什么需要声明一份礼物是真的是礼物。 问得好。 在进行按揭贷款过程时,您的贷款人将在几个步骤中评估您的贷款。 这些步骤中最重要的步骤之一是贷款审批人的审核。

贷款审批人负责最终批准您的贷款。 他们负责审核您的各个文档并确保所有内容都没有问题。 因为他们仔细检查您的财务状况,所以如果存在一些缺乏说明的大笔存款就是一个危险信号。 提供一封赠送证明函至关重要,因为这可以说明您的资金来源。 赠送证明函不是全部所需的事情。 除了赠送证明函,您的贷款审批人将需要验证您的各项资金。 验证项目包括银行月结单,并可能需要您的捐助者提供证明以显示从他们帐户导出的款项。

无法解释的资金会使您的贷款审批流程复杂化并导致有条件的批准,意味着您需要提供更多信息。 在这种情况下,您需要提供的就是一封赠送证明函。 您可能还需要其他几个解释书信,例如解释某项信贷活动。

然而,放款人都是出奇地灵活。 我们希望让您获得批准! 但是我们仍然需要遵循每个贷款计划的要求。 根据您选择的计划,您的赠送说明函的要求可能会有所不同。

FHA 赠送说明函的要求

通常,关于赠送说明函, FHA 贷款的法规较少。 首先,您交易的所有资金都可以来自赠送。 FHA 贷款更为宽松,因为它们是旨在确保房屋所有权的政府计划。 FHA 贷款还具有较低的信用评分和首付款要求,但通常附带按揭贷款保险。

FHA 贷款的赠送可能来自以下各方面:

  • 借贷人的家人
  • 借贷人的雇主或工会
  • 与借贷人有明确和长期关系的亲密朋友
  • 提供协助的政府机关
  • 慈善机构

传统赠送说明函的要求

通过房利美(Fannie Mae)或房地美(Freddie Mac) 来放款的传统贷款。 与 FHA 贷款一样,传统贷款使您可以完全使用礼物为交易提供资金。 但是,如果您要购买一个次要房屋,则需要提供至少 5% 的资金以避免按揭贷款保险。

您还会发现传统贷款在资金来源方面受到更多限制。 传统贷款礼物的给予方式包括:

  • 近亲:借款人的配偶、子女或其他受抚养人;通过血缘、婚姻、收养或法定监护权建立的任何其他关系;未婚夫妻或同居伴侣
  • 捐赠者不可以是建筑商、开发商、房地产经纪人或对交易感兴趣的任何人,或者与上述各方有任何从属关系的人

除了常规的礼物信息之外,贷款人还将要求您提供资金转移的日期。 但是,房利美和房地美不需要捐助者的资金来源。

USDA 赠送说明函的要求

USDA(美国农业部)计划仅限于农村地区,但提供零首付,也允许您使用礼物。 这项计划允许的资金来源与 FHA 贷款的来源相同,但请注意,如果资金来源是朋友则必须有具备文件记录的关系。 USDA 贷款的赠款资金可用于支付贷款手续费。

USDA 贷款对捐赠者没有什么限制,但来源不能是对资产拥有既得利益的任何人。

VA(退伍军人事务部)赠送说明函的要求

VA 计划的运作方式与上述的其他贷款计划类似。 VA 贷款唯一的限制是礼物不能来自有既得利益的人。 VA 贷款本身为退伍军人提供了很多好处。 像其他任何贷款一样,在 VA 贷款中,贷款人也要通过索取定期存款或银行月结单的证据来验证是否存在赠送资金。 此外,还可能需要将捐赠者赠送资金的支票副本发送给贷款代理人。

2020 年免税礼物上限

由于用于贷款的赠款金额通常比较大,因此可能有必要向 IRS(国税局)报告您的赠款。 尽管捐赠者通常是负责对赠款缴税的人,但在某些罕见的情况下,受款者可以同意支付税金。

但是,您不太可能需要涉及 IRS。 您需要一生中给予或接受超过 1100 万美元才会有任何实质欠款。 如果赠款低于 15000 美元且您在 2018、2019、2020、2021 这些年份之一报税,则可能不必申报您的礼物。

您的核定贷款的批准

准备好赠送说明函后,除非另有指示,否则您应该将其发送给贷款审批人或按揭贷款顾问。 赠送说明书将被添加到您的文件中,并确保贷款审批人没有阻止您的核定贷款的理由! 现在,您距离梦想之家仅一步之遥!

结语

多年来,赠送说明函准则并未发生太大变化。 这最终只是一个声明,表明您已经真诚地收到了资金,并且​​不需要偿还。 它为贷款审批人提供了让他们对投资充满信心并让您实现拥有房屋梦想的证据。 在 On Q Financial,我们相信梦想是具有包容性的,并将与您紧密合作,确保您实现梦想!

获取我的免费报价

获取我的利率

* 资料如有更改,恕不另行通知。 上述信息并不提供信贷延期或贷款承诺。 某些限制可能适用。 本材料仅供参考和教育用途。 在作出财务决定之前,请务必咨询专业顾问。 OnQ1124200681Y00000AzsRl

What is a Gift Letter for Your Mortgage?

If you are buying a home with not enough money for a significant down payment, you have some options to help bear the financial burden. Aside from down payment assistance programs or discount points, some may have the good fortune to call upon their friends and family for gifts. Rather than toaster ovens or blenders, we refer to monetary donations towards your new dream home.

However, when receiving funds in this manner, your lender will require you to provide a Gift Letter explaining that the money you received was indeed a gift and not new debt. The letter should outline that money does not need to be repaid. From the other perspective, make sure you know this requirement if you are donating towards someone else’s new home.

Before we get into the letter itself, let’s discuss what constitutes a gift regarding the mortgage process.

What is Considered a Gift?

Gifts can come from a variety of sources, sometimes referred to as donors. Donors may be friends or family, like parents, or possibly a gift from a wedding. In some cases, employers even contribute towards your house purchase, and even more rare, real estate agents sometimes contribute.

A gift does not need to come from one single source either. You can receive funds from several donors to put towards your down payment or closing costs.

Be aware that there are some restrictions. Gifts are not allowed on investment properties. So if you are hoping to purchase a second property for investment, make sure you have a different funding source. You can use gifts on primary and secondary homes, though, and this will apply to most options for first-time homebuyers. Check with your mortgage consultant to see if this applies to you.

How to Write a Gift Letter

A gift letter does not need to be complicated. You can certainly write a gift letter from scratch, and it can be as formal or informal as you’d like. The only caveat is that it must include the required information.

When writing your gift letter, make sure you include:

  • Donor name, address, and phone number (You will need this for each donor if you have more than one)
  • Nature of relationship
  • The exact amount of the gift funds
  • Clearly explain that repayment of funds is not required
  • Payment method for the funds
  • Address of the home you will purchase

Our Free Template

You can use this gift letter template for your situation. Simply fill in the blanks and send it off to your lender! It is also print-ready in case traditional mail is more your style.

Why Do I Need a Letter of Gift?

You may be wondering why you need to state that a gift is a gift. It’s a good question. As you go through the mortgage process, your lender will evaluate your loan during several steps. One of the most important of these steps is the underwriter review.

Underwriters give final approval on your loan. They are in charge of reviewing your documents and ensuring everything checks out. Because they scrutinize your finances, large deposits without explanation are a red flag. Providing a gift letter is crucial as it explains the source of your funds. The gift letter is not all either. In addition to the gift letter, your underwriter will need to verify your funds. Verification includes bank statements and may require proof from your donor to show the money leaving their account.

Unexplained funds can complicate your underwriting process and lead to conditional approval, in which you will need to provide more information. In this case, that would be a gift letter. There are several other letters of explanation you may need, such as explaining a credit event.
With that said, originators are surprisingly flexible. We want to get you approved! But we still need to follow the requirements for each loan program. Depending on the plan you choose, your requirements for a gift letter may vary.

FHA Gift Letter Requirements

In general, FHA loans come with fewer regulations when it comes to gift letters. To start, all funds for your transaction can come from a gift. FHA loans are more lenient since they are government programs designed to ensure homeownership. FHA loans also feature low credit score and down payment requirements but usually come with mortgage insurance.
Gifts for FHA loans may come from the following:

  • A borrower’s family member
  • A borrower’s employer or labor union
  • A close friend with a clearly defined interest in the borrower
  • A government agency that provides assistance
  • A charitable organization

 

Conventional Gift Letter Requirements

A conventional loan originates through either Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac. Like FHA loans, conventional loans allow you to fund your transaction using gifts entirely. However, if you are purchasing a secondary home, you will need to provide at least 5% of the funds to avoid mortgage insurance.

You will also find that conventional loans come with more restrictions when it comes to the funding source. A conventional loan gift can be given by:

  • a close relative: borrower’s spouse, child, or other dependents; any other relation by blood, marriage, adoption, or legal guardianship; fiance or domestic partner
  • a donor may not be or have any affiliation with the builder, developer, real estate agent, or any other party interested in the transaction

The lender will also require the date when funds were transferred in addition to the regular gift information. However, Fannie and Freddie do not require the source of the donor’s funds.

USDA Gift Letter Requirements

USDA programs are limited to rural areas but offer zero down and also allow you to use gifts. The same sources as FHA loans are permitted with the caveat that friends have a documented relationship. Gift funds for USDA loans can be used towards closing costs.

USDA loans have few restrictions on the donor, but sources cannot be anyone with a vested interest in the property.

VA Gift Letter Requirements

VA programs work similarly to the other loan programs discussed. With VA loans, the only restriction is that gifts cannot come from someone with a vested interest. Va loans themselves offer some great benefits for veterans. Like any other, with VA loans, a lender will also want to verify whether gift funds exist by asking for evidence of a certificate of deposit or bank statement. A copy of the donor’s funds by check to the closing agent may also be required.

Maximum Gift Without Taxes 2020

Because gifts towards your mortgage are typically large amounts, it may be necessary to report your gift to the IRS. Although the donor is usually the one responsible for paying taxes on the gift, there are some rare situations in which the recipient can agree to pay it.

It’s not likely you will need to involve the IRS, however. You would need to give or receive more than $11 million over your lifetime to owe any considerable amount. You may not have to report your gift if it is less than $15,000 and you are filing for one of the following years: 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021.

Your Closing Approval

Once you have your gift letter ready, send it to your underwriter or mortgage consultant unless you have been directed otherwise. The letter of gift will be added to your file and ensure underwriters have no reason to hold up your closing! You are now one step closer to getting into your dream home!

In Conclusion

Gift letter guidelines have not changed much throughout the years. Ultimately, it is just a statement that you have received funds in good faith and do not need to pay it back. It gives underwriters the evidence they need to be confident in the investment and make your dream of homeownership a reality. Here at On Q Financial, we believe the dream is inclusive and will work with you every step of the process to help ensure your dream is realized!

Get My Free Quote

Get My Rate

* Information is subject to change without notice. This is not an offer for extension of credit or a commitment to lend. Some restrictions may apply. This material is provided for information and educational purposes only. Always consult with a professional advisor before making financial decisions. OnQ1124200681Y00000AzsRl

About the Author

Before opening On Q Financial in 2005, John Bergman originated and funded 450 units a year as a loan officer. He founded the company with just $1M of personal life savings—committed to his vision for building the best independent mortgage organization in the industry.

View John's Profile