新的 FHFA 合规贷款限额及其对您的意义

联邦住房金融局(FHFA)宣布,合规贷款限额将在 2021 年提高。 与任何此类公告一样,它充斥着行业术语,这可能会使您很难理解其含义。 在 On Q Financial,我们坚信简单的原则,因此我们将对这个公告进行解码,并为您提供所有住房决策所需的所有信息!

什么是合格贷款限额?

在进入公告之前,让我们解释什么是合规贷款限额。 “合规”是指在 ​​FHFA 设定的限额内的贷款,因此可以由房利美(Fannie Mae)和房地美(Freddie Mac)机构提供担保。

为什么按揭贷款有限额?

FHFA 设置了这些限制,因为这有可能获得较高价值的按揭贷款。 房利美和房地美负责支持他们所购买的违约贷款。 如果他们要购买太多高价值的贷款,则可能会对该机构的财务未来构成风险。 这些限额还可以保护贷款人,因为如果超出限额,他们就不太可能批准有风险的高价值贷款。

如何决定贷款限额?

根据 2008 年《住房和经济复苏法》,每年都需要调整贷款限额。 FHFA 使用上一年的年度 FHFA 房屋定价指数,可以确定平均房价上涨额,并使用相同的值确定涨幅上限。 但是,夏威夷、阿拉斯加、关岛、美属 维尔京群岛和高成本地区并不包括在内。 这些地区的合规贷款限额取决于房价中位数。

合规贷款限额是一件大事吗?

宣布新的合规贷款限额是一件大事,因为它允许贷款人提供更多传统贷款,而无需使用巨额贷款。

HERA

在 2008 年住房危机之后,联邦政府颁布了《住房经济复苏法》,其中除其他规定外亦制定了合规贷款限额的规则。 它的目的是保护借款人和贷款人,以防止再次出现市场崩溃。 如前所述,这些限制有助于确保房利美和房地美在财务上保持偿付能力,从而保护贷款人和借款人。

房利美和房地美

房利美和房地美目前处于保护状态,这意味着监管机构 FHFA 负责确保其财务稳定。 最终目标是无需政府监管即可将代理机构归还私营部门。 但是,在那之前,FHFA 须负责制定保护两个机构和行业的规则。

2021 年合规贷款限额变更

由于 2020 年房屋价格平均上涨 7.42%,FHFA 宣布将从 2021 年 1 月 1 日开始,将合规贷款限额提高相同的金额。

基准贷款限额

对于全国大多数县,合规贷款限额的增加直接等于平均房价的上涨额。 一单元房屋的合规贷款限额为 548,250 美元,与去年相比增长 7.42%。

高成本地区

但是,在成本较高的地区,这种增加并不那么简单。 FHFA 对房价中位数比基准贷款限额高出 115% 的地区使用了不同的计算方法。 这些县获得的贷款限额为基准的 150%,即 822,375 美元。

阿拉斯加、关岛、夏威夷和美属 维尔京群岛

阿拉斯加、夏威夷、关岛和美属 维尔京群岛的贷款限额必须比国家基准限额至少高出 50%,意味着这些地区也获得了 822,375 美元的新限额。 增加的限制是由于将其归类为“法定指定的高成本地区”。

合规贷款限额地图

为了更轻松地找到适合您所在地区的贷款限额,FHFA 创建了一个地图以显示了每个县之间的限额差异,并突出显示了高成本地区。

传统贷款与巨额贷款

您可能想知道为什么能够获得较大的传统贷款很重要。 这是一个很好的问题;为了回答这个问题,我们将研究传统贷款与巨额贷款之间的区别。

传统

传统贷款是最灵活的贷款类型之一,可以选择首付款或贷款条件的多种选择。 对于信誉良好的借款人来说,这些贷款是一个不错的选择,并且可以提供 20% 的首付款以避免按揭贷款保险。 但是,如果至少有一个购房者是首次购房者,或者借款人满足地区中位数要求,那么使用 FNMA Home Ready 或 FHLMC Home Available 计划也可以仅将传统贷款降低 3%。
由于政府机构不支持 USDA VA贷款等贷款,因此通常由贷款人将其出售给可以承担那个风险的一家较大的公司。 但是,随着贷款限额的提高,您现在可能可以在 3% 首付款的情况下获得高达 548,250 美元的传统规贷款!

巨额

巨额贷款涵盖大多数情况,其中房价超过 FHFA 设定的合规贷款限额 548,250 美元,但贷款人不能将这些贷款出售给房利美和房地美,因为它们不符合贷款限额。 在本质上,巨额贷款对贷款人而言风险更大,因此,收购难度也更大。 巨额贷款通常带有一些要求,例如更严格的贷款审批程序和更高的现金储备。

哪一种贷款比较好?

哪种贷款类型适合您主要取决于您的个人情况。 但是,传统贷款具有多种选择和结构不同的贷款方式,并可以提供最大的灵活性。 尽管巨额贷款不是很严格,但由于增加的风险和大量的金额,因此难以获得巨额贷款。 如果不确定这两种贷款类型中的哪一种适合您,请联系按揭贷款顾问以获取个性化建议!

这对您有什么帮助!

增加合规贷款限额意味着您可以使用传统贷款购买价格较高的房产。 在以前您可能无法获得巨额贷款,而现在您则拥有传统贷款提供的高达 548,250美元 的选择和灵活性! 这也意味着获得较可能更大贷款的批准。
如果您一直在考虑购房,但因为房屋价格的上涨而犹豫,那么现在也许是时候考虑了。 在 On Q Financial,我们希望为您的梦想家园提供最好的贷款,并且我们流程的一部分就是确保您拥有所需的所有信息。 如果您仍然不确定购房过程或有任何疑问,请随时与联系我们的按揭贷款顾问
如果您认为这些信息有用,并且想了解有关按揭贷款和购房的更多信息,请确保在 Instagram LinkedIn Facebook  上关注我们。

* 资料如有更改,恕不另行通知。 某些限制可能适用。 固定 30 年、 购买价为 548,250 美元且首付额为 20% 的传统贷款的大约贷款额仅用于比较和参考目的。

利率为 4.083%,年利率为 4.67%,首付款为 109,650 美元。 预计年底时将增加额外资金 11,300 美元。 大约每月付款 $3,699。 贷款方案不包括与每月按揭贷款费用(例如 HOA 费用)相关的额外费用/费用。 显示的所有金额均为估算值,每笔贷款会有所不同。 价格和费用随时可能更改。 上述信息并不提供信贷延期或贷款承诺。 贷款批准取决于申请人的贷款计划资格。OnQ1130200681Y00000B0LpS

New FHFA Conforming Loan Limits and What it Means for You

The Federal Housing Finance Agency (FHFA) has announced that conforming loan limits would increase for 2021. As with any announcement of this type, it is filled with industry jargon that may make it difficult to understand what this means. At On Q Financial, we believe in simplicity, so we will decode this announcement and give you all the information you need to make all of your housing decisions!

What are Conforming Loan Limits?

Before we get into the announcement, let us explain what conforming loan limits are. “Conforming” refers to a loan falling within limits set by the FHFA and, therefore, can be guaranteed by the agencies Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

Why are there Loan Limits on Mortgages?

The FHFA sets these limits because it is a risk to secure higher value mortgages. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are responsible for backing the loans they purchase should they default. If they were to acquire too many loans at a high value, it could pose a risk to the agency’s financial future. The limits also protect lenders since they will be less likely to approve a risky high-value loan if it exceeds the limits.

How are Loan Limits Decided?

Loan limit adjustments are required every year, thanks to the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008. Using the annual FHFA House Pricing Index for the previous year, the FHFA can determine the average home price increase and use that same value to determine the limit increase. However, there are exceptions for Hawaii, Alaska, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands, and high-cost areas. Conforming loan limits for these areas are determined as a function of the medium home price.

Are Conforming Loan Limits a Big Deal?

It is a big deal when new conforming loan limits are announced as it allows for more conventional loans to be funded by lenders without using a jumbo loan.

HERA

After the 2008 housing crisis, the federal government enacted the Housing Economic Recovery Act, which, among other things, established rules for conforming loan limits. The intention was to protect borrowers and lenders alike to prevent another crash. As previously mentioned, the limits help ensure Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac remain financially solvent, thereby protecting lenders and borrowers.

Fannie and Freddie

Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are currently in conservatorship, meaning the regulatory agency, FHFA, is in charge of ensuring their financial stability. The ultimate goal is to return the agencies to the private sector without the need for government regulation. However, until then, the FHFA is in charge of establishing rules that protect the agencies and the industry.

2021 Conforming Loan Limit Changes

Because home prices rose by an average of 7.42% in 2020, the FHFA announced that conforming loan limits would be increased by that same amount starting on January 1, 2021.

Baseline Loan Limit

For the majority of counties across the country, the conforming loan limit increase is directly equal to the rise in average home price. One-unit homes will have a conforming loan limit of $548,250, which is, again, a 7.42% increase from last year.

High-Cost Areas

In higher-cost areas, however, this increase is not as simple. The FHFA used a different calculation for areas where the median home price was 115% higher than the baseline loan limit. Instead, these counties received a conforming loan limit of 150% of the baseline, which amounts to $822,375.

Alaska, Guam, Hawaii, and U.S. Virgin Islands

The loan limits for Alaska, Hawaii, Guam, and the U.S. Virgin Islands must be at least 50% higher than the national baseline limit, which means that these areas also received a new limit of $822,375. The increased limit is due to their classification as “statutorily designated high-cost areas.”

Conforming Loan Limits Map

To make it easier to find the conforming loan limits for your area, the FHFA created a map of the limit differences between each county with the high-cost regions highlighted.

Conventional Loan vs. Jumbo Loan

You may be wondering why it matters that you can get a larger conventional loan. It is a good question, and to answer it, we will look at the differences between a conventional loan and a jumbo loan.

Conventional

Conventional loans are among the most flexible loan types, allowing for various options for down payment or loan terms. These loans are a good option for borrowers with good credit and can provide a 20% downpayment to avoid mortgage insurance. However, conventional loans can also be acquired with only 3% down with either the FNMA Home Ready or the FHLMC Home Possible program, provided at least one buyer is a first-time homebuyer or the borrowers meet area median requirements.

Because government agencies do not back these loans like USDA and VA loans, they are usually sold by the lender to a larger corporation that can bear that risk. With an increase in loan limits, though, you may now be able to secure a conventional loan up to $548,250 with only 3% down!

Jumbo

Jumbo loans cover most situations where the home price is over the conforming loan limit of $548,250 set by the FHFA, but lenders cannot sell these loans to Fannie and Freddie as they do not conform to the loan limits. Essentially, jumbo loans are riskier for lenders and, therefore, more challenging to acquire. Jumbo loans often come with requirements, such as stricter underwriting procedures and higher cash reserves.

Which is Better?

Which loan type is right for you depends mainly on your personal situation. However, conventional loans offer the most flexibility with many options and different ways to structure the loan. While not incredibly rigid, jumbo loans are more difficult to obtain due to the added risk and large amount. If you are unsure whether either of these loan types is right for you, contact a mortgage consultant to get personalized advice!

How this Helps You!

Increasing the conforming loan limit means that you may be able to use a conventional loan to purchase a higher-priced property. Where before you may have been limited into a jumbo loan, you would now have the options and flexibility that conventional loans offer on loans up to $548,250! It also means that getting approved for a larger loan may be more manageable.

If you have been considering a home purchase but were unsure about the rising cost of homes, now may be the time to consider. At On Q Financial, we want to get you the best loan for your dream home, and part of our process is ensuring you have all of the information you need. Check out our Home Buying Journey guide. If you are still unsure about the house buying process or have questions, do not hesitate to reach out to one of our mortgage consultants.

If you found this information helpful and want to learn more about mortgages and home buying, be sure to follow us on Instagram, LinkedIn, and Facebook.

*Information is subject to change without notice. Some restrictions may apply. Approximate loan amounts for a fixed 30 yr. Conventional loan on a purchase price of $548,250 with 20% down are shown for comparison and informational purposes only.

Interest rate of 4.083%, APR of 4.67%, and down payment of $109,650. Additional estimated funds due at closing $11,300. Approximate monthly payment of $3,699.  Loan scenario does not include additional costs/fees associated with monthly mortgage expenses such as HOA fee.  All amounts shown are estimates and will vary for each loan.  Rates and fees are subject to change at any time.  This is not a commitment to lend or extend credit.  Loan approval is subject to applicant’s qualification for a loan program.OnQ1130200681Y00000B0LpS

About the Author

Before opening On Q Financial in 2005, John Bergman originated and funded 450 units a year as a loan officer. He founded the company with just $1M of personal life savings—committed to his vision for building the best independent mortgage organization in the industry.

View John's Profile